South Tyneside Remembers World War One


The first three medals when awarded together were affectionately known as Pip, Squeak and Wilfred.

1914 Star (Mons Star) (Pip)

This medal was issued to those who had served in France or Belgium between 5 August 1914 and midnight on 22 November 1914.

The 1914-15 Star (Pip)

The 1914-15 Star was awarded to all who served in any theatre of war against Germany between 5 August 1914 and 31 December 1915, except those eligible for the 1914 Star.

British War Medal (Squeak)

The silver or bronze medal was awarded to officers and men of the British and Imperial Forces who served in the forces between 5 August 1914 and 11 November 1918. This was later extended to services in Russia, Siberia and some other areas in 1919 and 1920. The recipient's service number, rank, name and unit was impressed on the rim

Allied Victory Medal (Wilfred)

To qualify for the Victory Medal recipients had to have entered a theatre of war between 5 August 1914 and 11 November 1918. The recipient's service number, rank, name and unit was impressed on the rim.

All recipients of 1914-1915 Star also received both the British War Medal and the Victory Medal and in the main all recipients of the Victory Medal also received a British War Medal.

Women could also receive these medals for service in nursing homes and other auxiliary forces.

Silver War Badge

The badge was originally issued to officers and men who were discharged or retired from the military forces as a result of sickness or injury caused by their war service. The recipient would also receive a certificate with the badge. The badge was made of Sterling silver and was intended to be worn on the right breast of a recipient's civilian clothing.

Distinguished Conduct Medal (DCM)

The Distinguished Conduct Medal, was awarded for exceptional acts of bravery in the field by other ranks of the British Army.

Military Cross (MC)

The Military Cross was awarded to commissioned officers for acts of bravery.

Military Medal (MM)

The Military Medal was awarded to personnel of the British Army and other services, below commissioned rank, for bravery in battle on land.

Victoria Cross (VC)

The Victoria Cross is the highest award for gallantry in the face of the enemy that is awarded to members of the British armed forces. It may be awarded posthumously. It may be awarded to a person of any military rank in any service. There were three recipients of the Victoria Cross from South Tyneside during World War 1, Henry Howey Robson, Thomas Morrell Young and Joseph Collin.

Memorial Plaque

The memorial plaque was issued after World War 1 to the next-of-kin of all British and Empire service personnel who were killed as a result of the war. They were made of bronze and were known as the Dead Man's Penny because of their resemblance to a pre-decimal penny coin.


A medal bar or medal clasp is a thin metal bar attached to the ribbon of a medal to show the campaign the recipient received the award for, and multiple bars on the same medal are used to indicate that the recipient has met the criteria for receiving the medal in multiple campaigns. When used in conjunction with decorations for exceptional service, such as gallantry medals, the term "and bar" means that the award has been bestowed multiple times.