Parliamentary elections

UK Parliamentary elections or the general election as it is often known, is an opportunity for people in every part of the UK to choose their MP - the person who will represent their local area (constituency) in the House of Commons for up to five years. 

The last election was held on Thursday 12 December 2019.

How to vote

To vote in a UK general election a person must be registered to vote and be aged 18 or over, be a British citizen, a qualifying Commonwealth citizen or a citizen of the Republic of Ireland and not be subject to any legal incapacity to vote.

Parliamentary constituencies in South Tyneside

South Tyneside has two Parliamentary constituencies within its borders; South Shields and Jarrow.

In 2023 the Boundary Commission for England reviewed parliamentary boundaries across the country.

Some changes were made in our area and will take effect at the next general election. For more information, see changes to Parliamentary constituencies.

More information on Parliamentary elections

For more information about the UK Parliament and MPs, please see UK Parliament.