Proposed changes to Parliamentary constituencies


  1. Overview
  2. Changes in South Tyneside
  3. Next steps


Parliamentary constituencies in England have been reviewed, to ensure that each constituency across the country has an equal number of electors.

The Boundary Commission for England is an independent and impartial body who are responsible for this review. 

Changes in South Tyneside

The Boundary Commission for England have made some changes in our area.

They have carried out a series of consultation exercises to allow the public to have their say on what they are recommending.

The third, and final, public consultation was carried out over a four week period in late 2022. 

Public consultation on the revised proposals closed on 5 December 2022.

Summary of changes

In South Tyneside, the final changes are: 

  • a South Shields constituency which will include the Cleadon and East Boldon ward (currently in the Jarrow constituency)
  • a Jarrow and Gateshead East constituency to include the remaining current Jarrow wards plus four Gateshead wards:
    • Felling
    • Pelaw and Heworth
    • Wardley and Leam Lane
    • Windy Nook and Whitehills

See a map and full details of the changes

You can see a map of the changes and more details at:

Boundary Commission for England: 2023 Review of Parliamentary constituencies

Next steps

The Boundary Commission for England have submitted their final recommendations to Parliament.

The new constituencies will take effect at the next General Election.