Council Cabinet Confirmed

Posted by: Press Team on 18 May 2022 12:29

South Tyneside Council has confirmed a new cabinet for the 2022/23 municipal year with refreshed portfolios.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Tracey Dixon has confirmed eight Lead Member cabinet positions and six Member Champions.

The revised cabinet portfolios reflect the Council's priority areas in a more joined up way. Each portfolio reflects the key areas that are important to residents and businesses and have been realigned to help support delivery across service areas.

Cllr Tracey Dixon, Leader of South Tyneside Council said: "I want to put people at the heart of everything we do. By realigning Lead Member portfolios, we will be able to take a council wide look at how we deliver on the things that are most important to local people.

"As an organisation we are moving forward with a different way of working, building on the work we have undertaken in recent months. We have a relentless ambition to continue to improve and deliver for the borough and are keen to further enhance our relationship with the people of South Tyneside so that services are relevant and fit for the future. I'm confident that with a strong team of elected members and officers we can achieve that."

Councillor Joan Atkinson remains Deputy Leader taking on the portfolio of Culture, Leisure, and the Visitor Economy. Joining the Leader and Deputy are:

  • Adults, Health, and Independence - Cllr Anne Hetherington
  • Children, Young People & Families - Cllr Adam Ellison
  • Economic Growth, Skills and Climate Change - Cllr Margaret Meling
  • Governance, Finance and Corporate Services - Cllr Joanne Bell
  • Housing and Community Safety- Cllr Jim Foreman
  • Transport and Neighbourhoods - Cllr Ernest Gibson
  • Voluntary Sector, Partnerships and Equalities - Cllr Ruth Berkley

In addition to the Lead Member cabinet positions, six Member Champions have also been confirmed:

·         Democracy - Cllr Ann Best

·         Domestic Violence - Cllr Ruth Berkley

·         Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion - Cllr Jane Carter

·         Skills - Cllr Michael Clare

·         South Shields Town Centre and Market Traders - Cllr Mark Walsh

·         Youth Engagement - Cllr Jay Potts

The role of Member champions will be to act as an advocate for a specific area of the Council's business. The main responsibility of each member champion is to encourage communication and positive action over the issue they represent.

Champion portfolios highlight areas that the Council and Borough needs to really focus on as it emerges from the coronavirus pandemic and support those most severely affected by the changing economy

Cllr Dixon continued: "I have great faith in the team of Councillors who make up the Cabinet, who have the experience, the knowledge and the passion to lead this Council and to deliver for our residents. I welcome Champions to their new role, and I'm delighted by their eagerness to bring a fresh approach to today's challenges."

Positions were confirmed at the annual meeting of council on Tuesday 17 May. The Leader of the Opposition was confirmed as Councillor David Francis of the Green Party.

A full list of all council committees and members appointed to serve on outside bodies is available on the Council's website:

Last modified: 06 June 2022 12:31