UK Parliamentary Election - 4 July 2024


A UK Parliamentary (general) election took place on Thursday 4 July 2024. 

The purpose of the election was for the public to elect Members of Parliament (MPs) to the House of Commons.

See the general election results

The UK is divided into 650 areas, called constituencies, and each of these elects one MP to represent local residents in the House of Commons.

South Tyneside is represented by two MPs; one for the South Shields constituency and one for the Jarrow and Gateshead East constituency (formerly the Jarrow constituency).

The wards in the South Shields constituency are:

  • Beacon & Bents
  • Biddick & All Saints
  • Cleadon & East Boldon
  • Cleadon Park
  • Harton
  • Horsley Hill
  • Simonside & Rekendyke
  • West Park
  • Westoe
  • Whitburn & Marsden
  • Whiteleas

The wards in the Jarrow and Gateshead East constituency are:

  • Bede
  • Boldon Colliery
  • Fellgate & Hedworth
  • Hebburn North
  • Hebburn South
  • Monkton
  • Primrose
  • Felling (Gateshead Council)
  • Windy Nook and White Hills (Gateshead Council)
  • Pelaw & Heworth (Gateshead Council)
  • Wardley & Leam Lane (Gateshead Council)