Changes to South Tyneside Cabinet

Posted by: Press team on 18 May 2021 14:45

South Tyneside Council has announced changes to its ruling cabinet at the Council's annual meeting (Tuesday 18 May)

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Tracey Dixon has confirmed eight cabinet positions.

Cllr Joan Atkinson continues in the role of Deputy Leader and also holds the portfolio of Culture and Leisure.  Joining the Leader and Deputy Leader are:

Cllr Joanne Bell, Lead Member for Resources and Innovation
Cllr Adam Ellison, Lead Member for Children, Young People and Families
Cllr Jim Foreman, Lead Member for Housing and Transport
Cllr Ernest Gibson, Lead Member for Area Management and Community Safety
Cllr Anne Hetherington, Lead Member for Independence and Wellbeing
Cllr Moira Smith, Lead Member for Voluntary Sector, Partnerships and Co-operatives
Cllr Mark Walsh, Lead Member for Regeneration and Economy

Cllr Tracey Dixon, Leader of South Tyneside Council said: "The cabinet combines a range of knowledge, skill sets and representation from across South Tyneside, so that we can plan long-term for the people of South Tyneside.

"Members have been appointed based on their previous experience in Cabinet or who have proven experience in other Committees of the Council.  All Cabinet Members have made a contribution in driving positive change. 

"We are resolute in our determination to deliver our leadership priorities and to openly engage with our residents and business community."

Cabinet Members will lead the delivery of five key priorities to:

Cllr Dixon added: "We are at the start of what will be an exciting journey for South Tyneside as we emerge from the pandemic.

"Since taking on my role as Leader just six months ago, I started an open dialogue with the residents and businesses of South Tyneside. Both myself and my cabinet will continue to be out there reaching more communities to find out what is most important, particularly as we start a much-needed recovery - by working together I know we can make a real difference."

At the Council's annual meeting, Cllr Pat Hay was sworn in as the new Mayor of South Tyneside and Cllr Joe Amar the Deputy Mayor. A number of appointments were made to the Council's committees and outside bodies.

For a full list of Councillor appointments will be available at

Last modified: 29 September 2021 14:46