Local government elections

Councils are responsible for providing local services and facilities. Your elected representatives, or councillors, also represent you at a local level. Local government elections give people the opportunity to elect councillors. South Tyneside has 54 elected councillors which represent 18 wards across the Borough.

Local government elections take place over a four year cycle. Each councillor is elected for four years, this means that a third of councillors are elected every year with no elections in the fourth year.

The next local government elections are due to take place 4 May 2023.

To vote in a local government election a person must be registered to vote and also be 18 years or over on polling day, a British citizen, a qualifying Commonwealth citizen, or a citizen of the European Union, be resident in the UK and not be subject to any legal incapacity to vote.

More about Councillors and committee meetings.

If a councillor vacancy becomes available outside of the normal election timetable we may hold a by-election if requested, or it may be left vacant and filled at the next scheduled elections.