Deprivation (health and wellbeing needs in South Tyneside)


In England, deprivation is measured using The Indices of Deprivation 2019 (IMD 2019). It is based on seven different domains of deprivation:

  • Income Deprivation
  • Employment Deprivation
  • Education, Skills and Training Deprivation
  • Health Deprivation and Disability
  • Crime
  • Barriers to Housing and Services
  • Living Environment Deprivation Each of these domains is based on a basket

Combining information from the seven domains produces an overall relative measure of deprivation.