Skip header

School years and key stages

Learning and education is organised into blocks of years called 'Key Stages'. 

At the end of each key stage, your child's progress and attainment will be assessed.

 AgesSchool yearsKey stages
Reception4 to 5ReceptionN/A
Infants5 to 7Years 1 to 2Key Stage 1
Juniors8 - 11Years 3 to 6Key Stage 2
Secondary11 to 14Years 7 to 9Key Stage 3
Secondary14 to 16Years 10 to 11Key Stage 4


How would you rate the information on this page?

Share this page