North East Combined Authority


The North East Combined Authority (NECA) was established in April 2014 and brought together the seven councils which serve:

  • County Durham
  • Gateshead
  • Newcastle
  • North Tyneside
  • Northumberland
  • South Tyneside
  • Sunderland

The boundaries of NECA were changed on 2 November 2018 by the Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside and Northumberland Combined Authority (Establishment and Functions) Order 2018.

Due to the governance changes, NECA now covers:

  • Durham
  • Gateshead
  • South Tyneside
  • Sunderland

Our ambition is to create the best possible condition for growth in jobs, investment and living standards, making the North East an excellent location for business and allowing residents to develop high-level skills so they can benefit long into the future.

To deliver these aims we have united to speak with one voice to government, business, investors and partners.

Further information about the North East Leadership Board, including:

What we do