Skip header

South Tyneside Welcomes New Mayor and Mayoress

The new Mayor of South Tyneside is Councillor Norman Dick.

Councillor Dick was presented with his chains of office by outgoing Mayor, Ken Stephenson, at the annual Mayor Making ceremony at South Shields Town Hall this week.

The new Mayor, Councillor Dick, will carry out his civic role with his friend by his side, the new Mayoress, Jean Williamson.

The Mayor said: "It is a real privilege to become South Tyneside's new Mayor. Jean and I are incredibly proud to be representing the Borough and the wonderful people who live here. We will be doing everything we can to showcase the wonderful facilities, local businesses and charities that we have here in South Tyneside."

Born in South Shields, the former Harton Colliery miner went on to serve ten years in the Armed Forces, which took him to many countries for active combat. He later worked as a machine operator in Westoe Colliery. He continued his support the military as an adult instructor in the Army Cadet Force for six years and is an active member of the D.L.I Association in South Shields.

Councillor Dick has represented the West Park ward of South Shields since May 2014 and serves in the governing bodies of Lord Blyton School. He is also a member of the Friends of West Park, South Shields.

The Mayor added: "I would like to thank the outgoing Mayor, Ken Stephenson for the support he and the Mayoress, Cathy Stephenson, have shown us throughout their mayoral year."

Councillor Gladys Hobson and her daughter-in-law Marie Hobson were selected as the new Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayoress of South Tyneside.

Following the Mayor Making ceremony, the meeting of the Annual Full Council was held where the Leader, Councillor Iain Malcolm, in accordance with the Council constitution, made the following appointments to Cabinet:-

  • Deputy Leader and Independence and Wellbeing - Councillor Tracey Dixon
  • Culture and Leisure - Councillor Alan Kerr
  • Resources and Innovation - Councillor Ed Malcolm
  • Regeneration and Economy - Councillor John Anglin
  • Housing and Transport - Councillor Mark Walsh
  • Area Management and Community Safety - Councillor Joan Atkinson
  • Children, Young People and Families - Councillor Moira Smith
  • Voluntary Sector, Partnerships and Co-operatives - Councillor Nancy Maxwell

The Mayor Making ceremony and Annual Full Council meeting can be viewed online at

A full list of all council committees and appointments to serve on outside bodies is also available on the Council's website.


How would you rate the information on this page?

Share this page