Skip header

South Tyneside Local Government Election Results 2019

Labour has retained control of South Tyneside Council taking 14 of the 19 seats that were contested across the Borough.

The overall percentage turnout was 33.4 per cent (compared to 33 per cent in 2018), with 38,342 votes cast out of a total electorate of 114,680.

The highest turnout was in the Cleadon and East Boldon ward, where two seats were being contested. More than 46 per cent of the electorate chose to cast their vote.

The Leader of South Tyneside Council, Councillor Iain Malcolm and Deputy Leader, Councillor Alan Kerr both retained their seats. Councillor Malcolm (Lab) retained his seat with 1077 votes in the Horsley Hill ward and Councillor Kerr (Lab) retained his seat in the Monkton ward, with 862 votes.

A number of new faces joined the council:

  • David Roger Francis (Green Party) was elected to represent the Beacon and Bents ward with 1867 votes.
  • John Andrew Robertson (Independent) was elected to represent the Fellgate and Hedworth ward with 1163 votes.
  • Paul James Milburn (Independent) was elected to represent the Primrose ward with 759 votes.
  • Glenn Michael Thompson (Independent) was represented to represent the Westoe ward with 712 votes
  • Keith Roberts (Independent) was elected to represent the Bede ward with 1170 votes.

The new political make-up of South Tyneside Council is Labour - 48; Conservative - 1; Independent - 4; Green - 1.

The full list of election results can be found on the Council's website at

How would you rate the information on this page?

Share this page