Skip header

New Mayor for South Tyneside

The new Mayor of South Tyneside is Councillor Ken Stephenson.

Councillor Stephenson was presented with the chains of office by the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Olive Punchion, during the annual Mayor Making ceremony at South Shields Town Hall this week.

The new Mayor, Councillor Stephenson will carry out his civic role with his mum by his side, the new Mayoress, Cathy Stephenson.

The new Mayor said: "It is a great privilege to be representing the Borough. We are both really excited to be able to go out and meet the people of South Tyneside in what will be a very busy year of civic engagements and key events. We will also be using this time to help highlight all that our great Borough has to offer."

The new Mayor worked as a production operator in a warehouse environment before dedicating his time to public service.

He has represented the Primrose ward of Jarrow since February 2010 and is a governor at Jarrow Cross CofE Primary School, Epinay School and the Pupil Referral Unit at the Beacon Centre.

The Mayor added: "I would like to thank the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Olive Punchion for the support she and her Mayoress, Mary French, have shown us throughout their mayoral year. They have given us many opportunities to learn the ropes and witness for ourselves the wonderful work that is carried out by the numerous schools, charities, churches and all the volunteers whose work goes unnoticed and who never seek reward or recognition."

Councillor Norman Dick and his friend Jean Williamson were selected as the new Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayoress of South Tyneside.

Following the Mayor Making ceremony, the meeting of the Annual Full Council was held where the Leader, Councillor Iain Malcolm, in accordance with the Council constitution, made the following appointments to Cabinet:

  • Deputy Leader - Councillor Alan Kerr
  • Resources and Innovation - Councillor Ed Malcolm
  • Regeneration and Economy - Councillor John Anglin
  • Housing and Transport - Councillor Mark Walsh
  • Area Management and Community Safety - Councillor Nancy Maxwell
  • Children, Young People and Families - Councillor Moira Smith
  • Voluntary Sector, Partnerships and Co-operatives - Councillor Fay Cunningham
  • Independence and Wellbeing - Councillor Tracey Dixon

The Mayor Making ceremony and Annual Full Council meeting can be viewed online at

A full list of all council committees and appointments to serve on outside bodies is also available on the Council's website.


How would you rate the information on this page?

Share this page