Skip header

Local Government Elections - Thursday 2 May 2019

Local Government elections are due to take place on 2 May 2019.  Elections will be held in all 18 wards across South Tyneside.  

Apply to vote by post

To apply to vote by post, completed application forms must be returned by 5pm, Monday 15 April

Download the Application to vote by post107.5KB.

Email your completed form to

Or return your form in person to: 

Key dates
Publication of Notice of ElectionFriday 22 March
Poll cards will be delivered between22 March - 28 March
Last day to register to voteFriday 12 April
Last day to apply to vote by post5pm Monday 15 April
Last day to apply to vote by proxy5pm Wednesday 24 April
Polling dayThursday 2 May 2019
List of candidates at close of nominations
Beacon and BentsDavid Roger FrancisGreen Party
Ali HayderThe Conservative Party Candidate
Audrey McMillanLabour Party
BedeFay CunninghamLabour Party
Mary Elizabeth GolightlyThe Conservative Party Candidate
Keith RobertsIndependent
Biddick and All SaintsJoe AmarLabour Party
Rhiannon Sian CurtisGreen Party
Stewart Thomas HayThe Conservative Party Candidate
Neil HickmanUKIP
Boldon CollieryIan ArmstrongThe Conservative Party Candidate
Bevan Vaughan John de VilliersLiberal Democrats
Ian Jason DiamondIndependent
Sandra DuncanLabour Party
Colin Robert ToshGreen Party
Cleadon and East BoldonJoan AtkinsonLabour Party
Colin Campbell 
Jane CarterLabour Party
Ian ForsterIndependent
Dave HendersonIndependent
David HerbertGreen Party
Sarah Jean McKeownGreen Party
Fiona Anne MilburnIndependent
Christopher John SmithThe Conservative Party Candidate
Doriza Karin WetzLiberal Democrats
Donald WoodThe Conservative Party Candidate
Cleadon ParkStephen Jeffrey PeelGreen Party
Sam PriorThe Conservative Party Candidate
Susan Malcolm TraynorLabour Party
Fellgate and HedworthAudrey Elizabeth HuntleyLabour Party
John Andrew RobertsonIndependent
Joseph Stephen ToddThe Conservative Party Candidate
David WilkinsonLiberal Democrats
HartonRob DixLabour Party
Oliver Raymond Raife WallheadUKIP
Holly May WrightThe Conservative Party Candidate
Hebburn NorthSid AndradeLiberal Democrats
Michael Richard AyreIndependent
John Robert BarkerUKIP
Adam EllisonLabour Party
Brian GoodmanIndependent
Steven James RichardsGreen Party
Keith Campbell SumbyThe Conservative Party Candidate
Hebburn SouthWilf FlynnLabour Party
Matthew GilesGreen Party
Margaret Theresa SnowlingThe Conservative Party Candidate
Stephen WilkinsonLiberal Democrats
Horsley HillMark Ashley AutonThe Conservative Party Candidate
Colin Peter LemonIndependent
Iain MalcolmLabour Party
David James Stephen ScholeyUKIP
Sue StonehouseGreen Party
MonktonVanessa GreenThe Conservative Party Candidate
Alan KerrLabour Party
Matthew George McKennaGreen Party
Aidan SmithLiberal Democrats
Marian Elizabeth SteadIndependent
PrimroseWalter Featherston ArmstrongThe Conservative Party Candidate
Paul DeanLabour Party
Lesley Kay HansonGreen Party
Paul James MilburnIndependent
Lynn SmithLiberal Democrats
Simonside and RekendykePeter James BristowGreen Party
Judith Helen TaylorLabour Party
Cameron James WhiteThe Conservative Party Candidate
West ParkAnne Mellanby HetheringtonLabour Party
Thomas Alexander MowerGreen Party
Margaret Mary RobsonThe Conservative Party Candidate
WestoeElizabeth Johnson GreyLiberal Democrats
Paul David LinneyUKIP
Katharine Emma MaxwellLabour Party
Glenn Michael ThompsonIndependent
Nicola Pauline UsherGreen Party
Jack Oliver WhiteThe Conservative Party Candidate
Whitburn and MarsdenCharles Frederick McKenzie-SmithUKIP
Trevor Reid SewellGreen Party
Adam Lou StewartThe Conservative Party Candidate
Joyce WelshLabour and Co-operative Party
WhiteleasErnest Matthew GibsonLabour Party
Malcolm GilesGreen Party
Craig SlaterThe Conservative Party Candidate


View the Notice of Election.

To view the Notice of Election Agents see Notice of Election Agents1.06MB.

View the Statement of Persons Nominated573.58KB.

Pre election period

The Local Government elections will be held on 2 May 2019. The local election process starts with the publication of a 'Notice of Election' on Friday 22 March. This triggers what is known as the pre-election period, which runs from 23 March until the day after Election Day.

The Department for Communities and Local Government has published a Code of Practice on Local Authority Publicity which requires that during this period the Council must be particularly careful about any publicity material or events. When involved in creating publicity material or arranging events or consultations, you should consider the following questions:

  • Are you initiating publicity that refers to candidates and other politicians involved directly at the election?
  • Does the publicity deal with controversial issues where there is a political difference of view?
  • Does the publicity report views, proposals or recommendations in such a way that identifies them with individual politicians or political groups or parties?

If the answer to any of these questions is "yes" you should consider carefully whether the material should be published or the event take place during the pre-election period. There may be other issues that come up during this period, so if in doubt please ask.

For more information about the pre-election period please go to Local Government Association: What purdah means in practice.


  • Joanne Gelson (Elections) 424 7169
  • Mike Harding (Legal) 424 7009
  • Communications Team - 424 7463

Easy read guide and videos for voters with a learning disability

An easy read guide has been designed to help those with a learning disability understand how to register and vote in the local elections on Thursday 2 May 2019.

See Easy read guide and videos for voters with a learning disability.

How would you rate the information on this page?

Share this page