Skip header

Help with taking on an apprentice

Whether you are thinking about taking on an apprentice or need support in recruiting one, South Tyneside Council's Business, Employment & Skills Service are here to help you. The team offers a one stop shop with information and support for all your apprenticeship needs:

  • Support in sourcing the apprentices through our network of providers
  • Free advertising of vacancies
  • Support with short listing and interviews
  • Support with apprenticeship contracts/agreements
  • Funding for the cost of training
  • Sourcing a suitable training provider

Realising the potential

There are three levels of apprenticeships:

Intermediate Apprenticeships are for new Apprentices with no work experience. These are available for most jobs and last for a minimum of 12 months. At the end of the apprenticeship, the employee will be qualified to level 2, which is equivalent to 5 GCSEs, grade A* - C.

Advanced Apprenticeships are for new and existing employees in skilled occupations, or for those with the potential to be supervisors. The apprenticeship lasts for 18-24 months, with the employee gaining a level 3 qualification, which is equivalent to 'A' levels.

Higher Apprenticeships are the next step for employees that have entered the business with 'A' levels (or equivalent) and have responsibility for staff and resources. It takes up to 3 years to complete, with employees reaching level 4, which is the equivalent to a foundation degree.

Intermediate and advanced apprenticeships follow a national framework, helping to ensure that young people gain the skills they need for working life.

These include National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs), which cover work-based skills, Key Skills, including personal development skills like communication and IT, and a technical certificate.

Apprenticeship Frameworks

There are 2 levels of apprenticeship that allow young people to study at NVQ Level 2 (Apprenticeship) or NVQ Level 3 (Advanced Apprenticeship). At each level there is a framework which specifies the qualifications that must be achieved - these will include an NVQ, Functional Skills and usually a Technical Certificate.

  • National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs) - designed around the skills that people use at work, each NVQ is made up of a number of units which set out what an individual must be able to do in a given area and to what standard. Each individual unit is assessed and credited and an NVQ is awarded when all of the required units have been achieved. Assessment activities normally take place within the workplace by a qualified assessor
  • Functional Skills - these address the personal development of an individual and cover essential skills that Apprentices need to support their vocational skills. They include Communication, Application of Number, Information Technology, Working with Others, Improving own Learning and Problem Solving
  • Technical Certificate - taught off-the-job this qualification delivers the underpinning knowledge relevant to the NVQ

Once a level 3 Apprenticeship has been completed higher apprenticeships are available at a range of levels, from the equivalent of a foundation degreeto a bachelor's degree and soon at master's degreelevel in some sectors. To start a higher apprenticeship, individuals need to have entry qualifications typically at level 3 such as A-levels, advanced level diploma, NVQ level 3 or an advanced apprenticeship.

Download our Employer's Handbook for Apprenticeship1.5MB for more information. 

How would you rate the information on this page?

  • Business Employment & Skills Service
  • Town Hall & Civic Offices
    Westoe Road
    South Shields
    Tyne & Wear
    United Kingdom
    NE33 2RL

  • 0191 424 6262

Share this page