Skip header

Pay your Council Tax

Automated telephone payment system

You can pay by debit card using our easy to use automated telephone line. Call 0300 456 0501.

Payment kiosks

You can use the payment kiosks, which are located in South Shields Town Hall and Jarrow Town Hall. They are available Monday to Friday, 10am to 3pm.

Post Office or PayPoint

You can pay by cash at any Post Office or shop displaying the PayPoint logo. Cash payments may take up to 4 working days to be credited to your account. Find your nearest facility at the Pay Point Locator website.

Standing order

You can pay by standing order at your bank with the following information:

South Tyneside Council, Lloyds Bank Plc, King Street Branch.
Account number: 35508568
Sort Code: 30-97-89

Please make sure the only other information quoted is the 7-digit Council Tax account number.


Cheques should be made payable to "South Tyneside Council", and sent to South Tyneside Council, Hawthorne Building, Rolling Mill Road, Viking Industrial Estate, Jarrow, NE32 3DP.

Problems paying your bill?

If you have difficulties keeping up with your payments, please contact us as soon as possible. Getting in touch with us may stop further costs being added to your account. For more support and advice, contact the Welfare Support Service or Citizens Advice Bureau.

Received a text message from us?

We are currently sending text messages to remind residents that their Council Tax payment is overdue.

The message will come from ST Council.

Be aware of scams

If you have any doubts about a text message, please contact us directly on 0191 424 4343.

South Tyneside Council will never ask you to supply personal information by text or email.

See National Cyber Security Centre: How to spot a scam email, text message or call.

Return to top of the page to Pay your Council Tax.

How would you rate the information on this page?

Share this page