North East Devolution

What the devolution deal is about

This devolution deal is subject to adopting the model of a directly elected mayor over the whole of the Combined Area and replacing the two combined authorities which currently exist in that area, namely the North East Combined Authority (NECA) and North of Tyne Mayoral Combined Authority (NTCA), with a single new North East Mayoral Combined Authority (NEMCA).

There is no change to the way the seven local authorities operate independently, and they will still be responsible for delivering the services they do currently.

The councils have published a scheme under the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

Currently, Newcastle City Council, North Tyneside Council and Northumberland County Council are members of NTCA while Durham County Council, Gateshead Council, South Tyneside Council and Sunderland City Council are members of NECA.

Our published scheme sets out proposals for changing the way in which the councils work together on these matters, and for devolving new powers to the area of the seven councils.

This new combined authority will be led by a Mayor elected by residents across the area, and together with one representative from each of the seven constituent councils will form a Cabinet which will make decisions for the new combined authority.

There are documents available on this page for reference if you would like more detail:

  • Governance Review which considers how functions to promote economic growth and improve transport are managed in the region, concluding that the creation of a new authority would deliver better outcomes
  • The scheme sets out proposals to change the governance arrangements for the area of the seven councils
  • The deal document agreed in principle with government

The first step to implement our proposals was to seek your views on these through public consultation.